Fashion Forward 2011

14 January 2011
Back to Press Portal
Fashion Forward 2011

The British Fashion Council (BFC) today announces that three designers Meadham Kirchhoff, Peter Pilotto and Todd Lynn will receive Fashion Forward sponsorship for two seasons to show at February 2011 and September 2011 London Fashion Week.

The Fashion Forward scheme sponsored by Coutts & Co and supported by the London Development Agency, was established 5 years ago to provide funding to talented emerging British designers to show and develop their businesses in London. London Fashion Week is the most creative and dynamic event on the international fashion calendar promoting established and emerging British design talent to a global audience. Fashion Forward is a key BFC initiative to promote emerging design talent. The award provides the winner with a cash prize to showcase their collection and access to knowledge to develop their business.

Fashion Forward applicants are judged by a panel of experts including Caroline Rush, Chief Executive of the BFC; Alan Marshall, Coutts & Co; Anna Orsini, BFC Consultant; Averyl Oates, Harvey Nichols; Dolly Jones, and Sarah Mower, American Vogue and BFC’s Ambassador for Emerging Talent.

Previous Fashion Forward winners include Christopher Kane, Erdem, Giles Deacon, Jonathan Saunders, Louise Goldin, Marios Schwab, Richard Nicoll, Roksanda Illincic and Sinha-Stanic. 

Caroline Rush, CEO, British Fashion Council, commented “This year’s Fashion Forward recipients are an incredible group of designers, watched each season by the world’s media and buyers as they build their brands. I am excited to see what the year ahead will bring for Edward, Ben, Peter, Chris and Todd and the collections that they will be showcasing at next month’s London Fashion Week. I thank our sponsors Coutts & Co and the London Development Agency for their continued support.”

Michael Morley, Chief Executive of Coutts & Co, commented "Coutts is thrilled to be sponsoring Fashion Forward, supporting London’s status as the hotbed of emerging talent. This sponsorship re-enforces our commitment to the world of contemporary creative industries, where the last few years have seen us enjoy highly successful relationships with fashion designers such as Stella McCartney and Oswald Boateng; and sponsorship of Matthew Williamson’s ‘10 Years in Fashion’ retrospective at the Design Museum and most recently Coutts London Jewellery Week. The UK is a world leader at creating new fashion designers and Coutts is determined to support this emerging talent with mentoring schemes, providing business acumen and training, and financial advice to support the next generation."

Winners Comments

Edward Meadham and Ben Kirchhoff said: “We are both pleased to have been awarded Fashion Forward. It is so important that young talent is appropriately supported in this industry and Fashion Forward gives us the opportunity to further develop our work in a relevant manner.

Peter Pilotto and Christopher de Vos said: “With ongoing support from the BFC and Coutts, Fashion Forward will help us reach the next level!"

Toddy Lynn, said “I am thrilled to have won Fashion Forward for 2011. This will be such a great support to me and my brand both in terms of financial sponsorship and building my business through the mentoring scheme. I am so excited to showcase my AW collection next month, and look forward to working with Coutts over the coming year.”

Image: The winners at the announcement event - (left to right) Peter Pilotto, Christopher de Vos, Edward Meadham, Benjamin Kirchhoff and Todd Lynn

Click for full image gallery from announcement event

For more information, biogs and exclusive interviews with the designers visit

For press enquiries regarding Coutts & Co’s sponsorship of Fashion Forward please contact: